8 Things to do in Portland

my Portland snow globe

My Portland Snow Globe

I’m doing a road trip to Portland with my family next week. I’m psyched!

There are SO many tourist attractions:

  • Powell’s City of Books
  • The Lan Su Chinese Garden
  • The Stumptown Coffee Roasters
  • The Oregon Zoo
  • The Pittock Mansion
  • The Oregon Museum of Science and Industry (OMSI)
  • Voodoo Doughnut
  • The International Rose Test Garden
  • The Portland Art Museum and The Portland Japanese Garden.

Powell’s City of Books

I’m super excited for Powell’s City of Books because… well I’m crazy ’bout books! It’s gonna be like this the whole time we’re a the city of books:

ME: Can I PLEASE get a book! PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE!

MOM: We’ll see,Emma. Begging makes me want to by it less.

ME: Okayyyyy.

English: Powell's City of Books NW Entrance- P...
Powell’s City of Books   Portland,Oregon   (Photo credit: Wikipedia)
Powell's City of Books in Portland, Oregon.
Powell’s City of Books in Portland, Oregon. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The Gardens

There are three different gardens in Portland. I’m excited to see them because I’m in the gardening club in my school. I think gardens are really pretty. I think these ones in particular are going to catch my eye.

English: Strolling Pond Garden at the Portland...
Strolling Pond Garden at the Portland Japanese Garden. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)
English: The Portland Classical Chinese Garden...
The Portland Classical Chinese Garden. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)
Wide angle image of the International Rose Tes...
The International Rose Test Gardens in Portland, Oregon. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Stumptown Coffee Roasters

I’m excited to go to the Stumptown Coffee Roasters because I think my parents would like it there. Although my dad has developed a  sensitive tast of coffee…

Stumptown Coffee Roasters sign in downtown Por...
Stumptown Coffee Roasters sign in downtown Portland, Oregon. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The Oregon Zoo

I’m excited to go to The Oregon Zoo because I love going to the zoo I’ve been to the Calgary Zoo but I haven’t been to the Vancouver Zoo. (If there is one!)

Panthera pardus orientalis (Amur Leopard) at t...
Panthera pardus orientalis (Amur Leopard) at the Oregon Zoo (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Pittock Mansion

I’m excited to go to the Pittock Mansion, because well… I’ve never seen a mansion!

Pittock Masion, Portland, Oregon

OMSI

I’m SO SO excited to see the OMSI! Because I liked the Science World HERE and the OMSI is not much different I presume.

The Turbine Hall at Oregon Museum of Science a...
The Turbine Hall at Oregon Museum of Science and Industry. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Voodoo Donut

I’m excited to go to Voodoo Doughnut cause I love doughnuts!

Voodoo Doughnut in Portland, Oregon.

The Portland Art Museum

I love ART!! I’m excited for The Portland Art Museum!

English: Portland Art Museum
English: Portland Art Museum (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’m sure we won’t get to all of these this trip, but I hope to do them eventually.

Have you been to Portland or do you live there? What am I missing?

6 thoughts on “8 Things to do in Portland”

  1. Emma, I’m so proud of you for your blog. And there is a Vancouver Zoo. It is in Aldergrove and it’s pretty fun. I love you!!

  2. I don’t think I’ve ever been in a mansion, either. I would love to check one out and see if there was anything I’d change if it were my house! Sometimes I think it would be REALLY cool to own one and have my own pool, beautiful chandeliers, shiny floors, an enormous bed with 25 pillows, and a ginormous bubble gum machine that’s about 6 feet tall!

Leave a Reply

